About The Foresty Association

The Forestry Association of South Carolina supports the landowners, professionals, and companies that make up SC’s $21 billion forest industry by promoting sustainable forestry, use of wood products, and working forests. The Association advocates for a business friendly climate for our landowners and forest industry while promoting conservation and sustainability of South Carolina's forests.


Sustainable forests that provide social, economic, and environmental benefits.


To maintain and secure adoption of local, state, and federal policies that encourage management, utilization, and conservation of forest resources while maintaining or strengthening the pro-business climate for the wood and paper products industry.

Meet Our Staff

Cam Crawford

Cam Crawford

President and CEO
  • Chief Executive Officer
  • Lobbyist/Legislative Program
  • Policy questions
  • FASC spokesman
  • Board of Directors
  • SC Forestry Foundation
  • Executive Editor, Carolina Forestry Journal and SC Forestry Magazine
Guy Sabin

Guy Sabin

Vice President
  • TOP [Timber Operations Professional] Program
  • State Administrator for SC Tree Farm Program
  • Right To Practice Forestry
Julie Leary

Julie Leary

Director of Member Services
  • Membership dues/records
  • Accounts Payable and Receivable for FASC, SCFF, PLT and Tree Farm
  • Hunt Lease/Timberland Liability Insurance
Frances Taylor

Frances Taylor

Communications Director
  • Editor, Carolina Forestry Journal & Magazine
  • Design/layout of publications and communications material
  • Advertising
  • Annual Meeting Sponsors
  • Annual Meeting Exhibits
  • FASC’s representative for: SC Tree Farm Program: newsletters and other communications materials
  • FASC Board meeting minutes
  • Preparation of FASC's award nominations -- national and regional
Emily Oakman

Emily Oakman

Director of Landowner Outreach, Forestry Education and Programs
  • Landowner Outreach
  • Program Development
  • Sustainable Forestry Initiative
  • County Forestry Associations
  • Teachers' Tour
  • Young Professionals
  • Project Learning Tree
  • Wood Magic Forest Fair
  • Log A Load for Kids

Board of Directors


Wayne Steffen

Wayne C. Steffen

Boise Cascade/ Retired

Jimmy Sanders

James “Jimmy” C. Sanders

Past Board Chairman
Sanders Tree Farm

Mike Macedo

Mike P. Macedo

International Paper

Charles Segars

Charles A. Segars, Jr.

Johnson Co., Inc.

Cam Crawford

Cam Crawford

President & CEO
Forestry Association of SC


Brannon Babb

Brannon M. Babb

At-Large, 2020
Long Cane Logging

Roy Belser

Roy E. Belser

At-Large, 2020
American Forest Mgt.

Ken Leach

Ken Leach

Region III, 2020
Paradise Land Co., LLC

Eddie Lee

Edward “Eddie” C. Lee, II

Region II, 2020
Caw Caw Land & Timber

Josh Sandt

Josh L. Sandt, Jr.

Region I, 2020
Canfor Southern Pine
Myrtle Beach

Taylor Gibbs

Taylor Gibbs

At-Large, 2021
Beal Lumber Co.
Little Mountain

Pam Porter

Pam S. Porter

Region II, 2021
Porter Land & Timber

William Sligh

William D. Sligh, Jr.

Region I, 2021
Jordan Lumber & Supply

Mark Wesson

Mark Wesson

Region III, 2021
Wiley Fork Creek

Tim Williams

Tim Williams

At-Large, 2021
Log Creek Timber Co., Inc.

Joe Hamilton

Joe Hamilton

At-Large, 2022
SS Hamilton Farms
Green Pond

Tim Kirven

Tim Kirven

Region I, 2022

Tom Mason

Tom W. Mason

Region III, 2022
Piedmont Forestry Consultants

Barbara McPhail

Barbara McPhail

At-Large, 2022
McPhail Tree Farms, LLC

Jake Scott

Jake Scott

Region II, 2022
Collum’s Lumber Products

Forestry Association History

Charter Board of Directors
Pictured above: SCFA's first Board of Directors.

On Nov. 30, 1967, a handful of senior forest industry managers and consulting foresters gathered at the Tremont Hotel, Columbia, SC to discuss ways to strengthen the forest industry’s relationship with private landowners and improve the level of forest practices in the state.

SCFA's Early History (read the article)

FASC History
SCFA’s new Executive Vice President Bob Scott, left, joins Vice President Henry Savage, center, and Charles Flory in examining one of the Association’s first agendas.

FASC History
SCFA's first committee chairmen, 1970 (left to right): Norman Spell (Westvaco), Public Relations; Cam Neiderhof (Westvaco), Legislative; Julian Buxton (Williams Furniture), Membership; and Mac Lupold (Holly Hill Lumber), Annual Meeting.

The Forestry Association of South Carolina
4901 Broad River Road   |   Columbia, SC 29212
803.798.4170   |   admin@scforestry.org

Copyright © 2021

Site Designed by Convergent Design